The dreaded haircut

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, but I just came back from a week in Montreal. Luckily, all of my side effects pretty much disappeared the day I got to Montreal. It was like someone flipped a switch and I was back to my old self, and just in time to enjoy a vacation.

Before I left for Montreal, I had one more big step to make – getting my hair cut. Now, you have to understand that I have had long hair for a long time. I can remember getting my hair cut exactly once – in middle school, and I got it cut to my shoulder blades. By first grade, it was at my shoulders, and it’s only gotten longer. I’ve been psyching myself up to get it cut since I found out I’d be getting chemo first.

Now, the rule has always been in the house that I get to have the longest hair (StatGuy also has long hair). So, the whole family went to the hairdresser the day before we left for Montreal. The nurse had said it was likely to start thinning 12 days after chemo, which would be while we were in Montreal. I figured, if I was going to have to cut my hair, I at least wanted something good to come of it. Therefore, the plan was to donate my and StatGuys’s hair to Locks of Love. Besides, if I cut it before vacation, I’d at least be distracted from the lack of hair by being in a new city.

Before the family haircut

Before the family haircut

After the family haircut

After the family haircut

Miss Adventure had said all along she wasn’t going to get her hair cut, but she decided to join in the family fun. I got mine cut an inch long, but left it a couple of inches long just on top so it looked like I had a bit of style to it and not like I just got out of jail. StatGuy went with shaved to the scalp, but the kids just got it cut shorter than before. HaircutI was surprised that I kind of liked the haircut. The little flip on of the bangs was my natural curls asserting themselves. Even though I say I like it, though, I won’t go out in public without a hat. I still technically have hair, I just don’t feel comfortable with people seeing it. The other problem is now I have to talk about why I cut my hair to acquaintances who I haven’t told that I have breast cancer. It’s not something I want to talk about with everyone I meet, but losing my hair makes it more likely that it comes up in casual conversation.

16" for donation

16″ for donation

You couldn’t tell in the previous photos, but there was a lot of hair there. I had 16″ of braid to donate. StatGuy managed 14″ when you stretched out his curls. I did appreciate having a week to get used to very little hair before having to transition to no hair, so I’m glad I cut my hair before it started falling out. It wasn’t the original plan, but it worked out better than the original plan.

