Feeling icky

Alternate title: The iron infusion seems to be working

One thing I find fascinating about the time after chemo is how alike and yet not the side effects are. The major side effects seem to ebb and flow in a similar pattern, but each time has had unique aspects to it. Let me give you some examples.

The first time around, I was completely exhausted in the week following chemo. I’m sure it was a combination of I wasn’t as careful to rest (because I didn’t know what the fatigue would feel like) and the chemo drugs were doing quite a number on my cells. Regardless, I was tired, and as an added bonus, not hungry for several days. The second time around, I wasn’t near as tired (my kids being out of the house for several days probably contributed to that as well as me taking better care of myself), but my mouth just tasted nasty all the time.

This time around, I’m even less tired (I haven’t napped, although I have laid down to rest my eyes at times), but I don’t really have the energy to do much of anything. It’s a weird dichotomy flipping between I’m not tired enough to nap, but I’m not energetic enough to do anything but sit on the couch. Frankly, I’ve gotten bored the past two days and that just means I think more about the low-level nausea that’s pretty much constant, and I feel icky. (In case you’re wondering, icky is a technical term, thank you very much.)

StatsGuy did manage to put it in a positive note – the Venofer infusion I had at the end of chemo has probably given me a boost of energy that I didn’t have the past two times. Instead of sleeping through the icky feeling, I’m awake during it. Too bad I don’t have enough energy to actually DO something. Oh well, I did make myself a note of things I could do that didn’t take much energy, so I’ll have to try to check something off that list tomorrow instead of just being bored.

 

2 thoughts on “Feeling icky

  1. Hi Natalia,
    Did you get the book I recommended? You could read that as you sit on the couch. Let me know if you like it or not.
    Laurie

    • I managed to lose the name of the book, but I’m heading to the library today so tell me the name of the book again so I can pick it up while I’m there.

Comments are closed.