Iron infusions

I had my third iron infusion on Thursday, accompanied once again by my friend Rush. I was scheduled to start at 3:00, but didn’t get in until 3:30 which was unfortunate, since it takes two hours for the infusion. It’s shorter than a day of chemo, but still would be pushing 6:00 by the time the infusion and the half-hour observation period following the infusion was done. Luckily, I got the go ahead from one of the resident hematologists that I didn’t have to sit around for a half an hour afterwards since I’d already had two infusions and no reaction.

The bag of Venofer dripping into my veins.

The bag of Venofer dripping into my veins. It kind of looks like root beer in the bag.

I’m hoping this was my final iron infusion. I appreciate the extra energy I’m getting from having a full hemoglobin and hemocrit count (I’m assuming), but I don’t appreciate the side effects of the Venofer. The first two times, it really affected my taste buds and made everything taste flat. It also leads to a sore throat. I asked the nurse if there was anything I could do to prevent or minimize the sore throat, but she had never heard of that particular side effect. Apparently I got an uncommon one. We eventually decided to try some Tylenol PM – Tylenol for the pain and a bit of Benedryl to see if perhaps there was an allergic reaction going on.

It seems that the third time is a charm, or perhaps my body just needs to get used to the new drugs, but I haven’t had the taste changes this time around. That has made me happy because I get cranky when I’m hungry and can’t (or don’t want to) eat. I can feel a bit of a sore throat hanging around, so I doubt I’ll avoid that particular side effect. Better stop at the pharmacy soon!

The best part of the whole day was going out to dinner afterwards. I had planned on it, since I knew I’d be late getting out. We were out just after six and headed to the Thai place in downtown Erie. I love noodle dishes, but it is not child friendly, so we never go as a family. This was a perfect night to go. I didn’t get my all time favorite dish of Pad Thai, since I didn’t want it to taste bad. Instead I had Drunken Noodles which were quite tasty and full of veggies. After dinner, it was finally time to head home and hear how the family did without for the afternoon.

Elements added: Ironiron

