Chemo four of six

Subtitled: In which there is good news and bad news

Good news: This cycle of chemo means I’m two-thirds done

Bad news: I don’t really count it as done until the side effects are gone, and the nausea started early this time. I felt a bit nauseous once the chemo drugs started going into my system, even with all the anti-nauseous pre-meds they pumped into me. Today is the same, but that’s typical.

Good news: My white blood cell count went up, and my platelets are still in the normal range.

Bad news: My red blood cell count is now low, and my hemoglobin and hemocrit levels remain low.

Good news: While the hemoglobin is low, it is stable, and my iron levels are normal, so no more iron infusions on the schedule, and I won’t need a blood transfusion any time soon. That means my chemo only took five hours this time – the shortest one yet!

Bad news: My liver enzymes went way up, even higher than that first time when they were high. Unfortunately, I didn’t have those values when I saw Dr. Li on Tuesday, so I’m not sure what it’s going to mean for the last two cycles of chemo. Questions to ask the next time I see him (and I’ll have new bloodwork at that point, so we can see if they continue to go up). The frustrating thing for me is there’s really not much I can do to improve my liver, beyond not stressing it out with other drugs to detoxify, which is why I’ve given up alcohol for chemo and only take Tylenol as a last resort (which I haven’t needed since my surgery for my port).

And I’ll end on unmitigated Good news: The breast MRI showed that the tumor which was taking up nearly my entire right breast has almost completely disappeared. There’s just a residual piece about one cubic centimeter in size, and that was after only half the chemo cycle. The last half of chemo should wipe that right out, which significantly improves my outlook. Here’s to good drugs!

2 thoughts on “Chemo four of six

    • That’s definitely the take home highlight I’ve been focusing on when the nausea tries to get me depressed.

Comments are closed.