Chemo #5

Unfortunately, not as fun as Mambo #5, but my sister came with me this time and made it as fun as it can be. Sarah and I don’t get to visit for hours uninterrupted and even talking on the phone is a lesson in Mommy Conversations, since one of her kids (being still on the young side) likes to interrupt every minute or so. All the chatting certainly made the chemo go by quickly. I was sure I had another drug to infuse, but nope – all done. Starting at 8am also helped it go faster, I think, since I was done by 1pm. Lots of time to run some errands on the west side of town afterwards.

Me and my sister, Sarah.

Me and my sister, Sarah.

Bloodwork came back on Wednesday with no surprises. My anemia is still holding steady, with white blood cells and platelets in the normal range. My liver enzymes were still high, though. One had gone down a bit, and the other up just a touch, but since my alkaline phosphate and bilirubin levels were normal, I could still get chemo. Turns out, damaging my muscles, whether through heavy exercise or bruising, can also raise my liver enzymes. So, you’re saying I shouldn’t have dug out that root ball from a bush in front of my house? Maybe you should have warned me about that exercise connection a bit earlier. Once I feel fine, I go back to my normal levels of activity, which tend to be on the high side. Ah well, at least I know better for my last chemo treatment. Maybe I can get those liver enzymes to go down again.

The other thing I learned was not to take my Zofran the day after chemo since it can interfere with some of the anti-nausea drugs they infused in me during chemo. Luckily this time I didn’t start to feel nauseous while the chemo drugs were going in, which puts me ahead of the game from last time. Speaking of last times, there’s just one chemo cycle left. I’m having a big party when this part of my treatment is done!

