Planning ahead

I think everyone’s getting a bit tired of chemo wiping me out every three weeks. Tempers have been a bit short and it’s been hard to see the good choices these past few days. It doesn’t help that the weather has changed and it’s no longer fun to go out and play. Good thing Miss Adventure has her gymnastics and Mr. Curiosity has started soccer so they have some physical outlet.

I did realize I would not be at my best since this weekend and made plans for something fun for the kids. They got a sleepover Saturday night and spent the entire next day at the friends’ house. This gave me some much-needed down time to just rest. I find it very difficult to rest before I’m tired, but my body really appreciates the consideration and chance to recuperate.

The Tuesday after chemo turns out to be mentally a very difficult day. Any time I’ve felt like I’m never going to get better and I’ll be stuck feeling awful forever, it turns out it’s the Tuesday after chemo. This time I was more prepared and decided it would not be a school day for the kids. I did not need to hassle them on top of my internal negative monologue. I also planned for the kids to go to a friend’s house for dinner. That was my lifeline. All day, as I was irrationally annoyed at every little thing, I just kept reminding myself they would be leaving at 4:15. Sadly, even when I know I’m being irrational, I can’t stop myself from doing it.

The Wednesday after chemo is always my “high nausea day” so today my mother came down to help me. I did such a good job at preventing the nausea and resting before it was a problem that I thought I was clear today and didn’t need an afternoon on the couch. I was soon disabused of that notion. Turns out, resting is a good idea and keeps the nausea at bay just fine. If I try to do anything else, though, the nausea comes creeping back.

But, that should be the worst of it for this time, and there’s only one cycle left! Five down, one to go! I’m thinking endgame here!

