Baby, It’s Cold Outside

I must say, with the change in weather, I’ve noticed the cold a lot more than I used to. The back of my neck, particularly, feels the cold air. It’s really not used to being exposed this time of year. The only time I used to have my neck bare was in the summer when it was really hot and sweaty. My hats keep the top of my head nice and warm, but my neck feels left out. The one advantage of the cold weather is it’s easy to cool off when I get a hot flash – just pull the hat off for a couple of minutes and I cool right down.

Amazingly, my hair is already starting to grow back on my head. It never really all fell out, but it’s definitely thicker now than it was a month ago.

Fuzzy head

Fuzzy head

The sad part is you can’t really see it yet. It’s nice and fuzzy, and there are some longer bits of where it wasn’t shaved too tight to my head, but it’s still baby fine. Miss Curiosity asked me today when I would stop wearing my hats, and my answer is when I can not see scalp on my head. As you can see in the picture below, the scalp is pretty evident. I wish it would regrow the way StatsGuy’s hair does – nice and dark.

Fuzzy head and eyebrows

Fuzzy head and eyebrows

The other advantage of the hats is they hide my lack of eyebrows. All but a few eyebrow hairs managed to fall out, but there’s a sprinkling of regrowth (you can kind of see it in the picture above). I’m half tempted to just pull the long hairs out so everything is even as it regrows. At least I’m done with chemo and everything can start to regrow together. I haven’t minded the lack of body hair, but I would like the facial hair to come back quickly. We’ll see if the eyelashes fall out – I’ve heard from several friends who went through chemo that they lost their eyelashes weeks after chemo ended.

