Good news!

I saw the breast surgeon (Dr. Engel) today, and there was good news. The latest breast MRI came back completely clear of cancer. My oncology team had a meeting this morning to talk about my case and they were all quite impressed with how well the cancer responded to treatment. Needless to say, I’m extremely excited!

Unfortunately, it doesn’t change the surgery I have planned. I still need a modified radical mastectomy. Because of the size of the initial tumor, Dr. Engel will remove all of the right breast tissue and most of the axillary lymph nodes. Since I had a biopsy that verified the cancer had spread to the axillary lymph nodes, he’ll take most of them out just to be safe. I just have to decide if I want to do reconstruction on the breast or not. I’m having a hard time making a decision on that. I will meet with the plastic surgeon to get some more details and maybe that will help.

Once surgery is done, the pathologist will look through the tissue for any evidence of the cancer. If I’m really lucky, and there’s no pathological evidence of the cancer, I won’t even have to do radiation! That would be pretty awesome, but I’m not counting on it. Just having it not show up on the MRI improves my long-term outlook, and makes me quite happy today.

