The SCAR project

I was doing some research on what to expect for recovery from a mastectomy, since that is coming up quickly. I’m not sure it was all that helpful. Sure, I have a better idea of what to bring to the hospital, and I do believe I’ll do a bit of shopping so I have warm button-up pajamas that I can manage to put on after the surgery. However, I’m feeling much more anxious about the recovery process after reading some blog posts about how hard it was.

One thing I am not worried about is the actual losing of my breast. I found it much more traumatic to contemplate losing my hair than losing my breast. Even so, I am curious as to what it will look like when I’m done. In doing some blog hopping last night, I found this cool website: The SCAR Project that shows portraits of women after a mastectomy. It’s probably NSFW as they are images of topless women, although the number of breasts on each woman varies from zero to two. I am surprised how much the loss of breasts makes a woman look like a boy. It’s a struggle to flip the image into “female” for me. Still, it is a great set of photos.

Just one of the pictures featured within the SCAR project.

Just one of the pictures featured within the SCAR project.

