Drains are annoying

Body parts are continuing to heal, although not as fast as I’d like. At this point, I’m not too achy or itchy, but the drains are really annoying. I managed to go outside today to get the mail, for the first time in a while, but I have no desire to go outside of the house anytime soon. The drains just don’t fit comfortably under my shirt, let alone under the coat, and it’s not something I’d want to explain if I went out in public.

The drains are set up to remove the buildup of fluid from under my skin. I have to empty them three times a day and record the amount of fluid in each. Once a drain has been emptied, I have to squeeze it before I recap the drain to provide the suction. It’s not anything I notice or can specifically feel or even see happening, but there’s always fluid in the tubes.

Drain #1 just emptied

Drain #2 just emptied

What I can feel is where the tubes come out of my body. It’s high under my armpit, so the Ace bandage tends to slip and not cover the site well. Also, as things are healing, I’m getting more sensation come back under my arm which means I can feel the extra stuff under my arm more. Don’t worry, I won’t show a picture of the tubes coming out of my skin. That’s definitely the grossest part of the surgery. StatsGuy has to help me put a new piece of gauze under the tubes and he would much prefer to do the task with his eyes closed, if I let him.

The actual incision site from the mastectomy, on the other hand, looks much better than I expected. I am also completely surprised I don’t have a bandage on the site. I just lay a piece of gauze over the incision so it doesn’t rub on the Ace bandage. I have to check the incision site several times a day to watch for infection, but it seems to be healing quite nicely. No more burning pain with deep breaths, at least. I’m just waiting for the drains to come out so I don’t have to worry about a specific arm movement causing problems with the tubes. If you’re interested, I’m putting a picture of the incision at the bottom of the post. Click on it to make it bigger, or just don’t scroll all the way down if you’d rather not see it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My incision site, with leftover Sharpie still defining the inframammary fold

My incision site, with leftover Sharpie still defining the inframammary fold

