Presents from friends and family

Bouquet from my Aunt and Uncle Gnann

Bouquet from my Aunt and Uncle Gnann

So, after my surgery, I guess people thought I might need some cheering up and so they sent presents. I got two lovely bouquets – one from local friends and one from my aunt and uncle. As a bonus, neither of them were pink flowers. However, I will admit that flowers are about the only thing I enjoy in pink.

Bouquet from Dave and Ruth.

Bouquet from Dave and Ruth.

With all the Christmas decorations taking up the usual flat surfaces I’d put the flowers on, I was a bit hard pressed to find a place for them. A little creative moving around, and the all found a home. My mother decided to go with something a little more functional and sent some fruit.

A fruit bouquet from my parents.

A fruit bouquet from my parents.

Not only where there pineapple stars, but we had white and milk chocolate covered banana pieces and chocolate covered strawberries. A yummy treat that we ate over several days.

I even got some new houseplants from my mother-in-law’s neighbor – a cool, frosty moss and a Christmas cactus. I’ll need to get some tips from my mother on how to make the cactus bloom. Hers are always beautiful. As for now, I’ll just have to remember to water them appropriately. My plants usually need to wilt before I remember to water them.

New house plants. Let's hope they don't mind drying out on a regular basis.

New house plants. Let’s hope they don’t mind drying out on a regular basis.

Just a little something to take my mind off the annoyance and pain of the surgery and subsequent drains. I was hoping I’d get a drain out tomorrow, but it looks like it won’t be ready until Saturday. Sadly, plastic surgeons don’t work on Saturdays so I’ll have to keep the drain until Monday. That will make a significant improvement in my quality of life

