Sleeping isn’t easy

I was surprised when I came home from surgery that sleeping was more painful that I expected. In most things, you wake up and feel best in the morning, but I found that I am very achy and stiff in the morning. I’m sure it doesn’t help that I have only one sleeping position for the whole night. Good thing I’ve always been a back sleeper. Once I’m up and about, the stiffness and pain in my chest goes away quickly.

The first night back from the hospital, I found out I couldn’t sleep flat on my back. I didn’t realize this fact until I tried it since I’d been in a hospital bed, propped up at least a little since the surgery. I laid down to go to sleep and discovered it hurt to breathe. OK, fine, I thought. I’ll just sleep on the recliner in another room. However, getting up off my back was a difficult and painful process. Both rolling over and sitting up require the use of chest muscles, which were painful from the surgery. I eventually managed, but it did not improve my mood that night. After that first night, I slept with one of those long, triangle-shaped pillows under my regular pillow in bed.

My sleeping boost - just enough so I could breathe without pain.

My sleeping boost – just enough so I could breathe without pain.

As for a current update, I’m feeling quite good and ready to do stuff. My only complaint is the drain. I swear I can feel it moving under my skin in my armpit. That’s the only part of my body that hurts, and it hurts more the more I do. I think I need to make today a quiet, sitting day since my armpit is sore already this morning. I also think the drain is irritating my body, which is making more fluid around it so the drain amount isn’t decreasing the way it should. I have a meeting with Dr. Kang tomorrow morning and I WILL be getting this thing out of me then.

To end on a positive note – check out the hair! My family came down yesterday and I didn’t even wear a hat when they were here.

It almost looks like a hair-do again. Now I just wear hats to keep warm.

It almost looks like a hair-do again. Now I just wear hats to keep warm.

