Radiation presents

In an effort to lessen the dread of the daily trips to the Cancer Center for radiation, my mother brought me a box of presents the last time she visited.

My radiation presents

My radiation present box

I’m allowed to open one present every day I have radiation. I’ve decided to open them after radiation, mainly because I leave so early in the morning that both the kids aren’t up to see what I get. They are just as excited about the presents as I am. I know they’re little things, but it adds an element of excitement and pleasure to an otherwise dishearteningly long series of treatment. As a bonus (as a friend pointed out to me), I get to visually watch the box get emptier and emptier the closer I get to the end of treatment.

In the spirit of the presents, I thought I’d share what I got on a weekly basis. I only had two treatments last week, so I only got to open two presents. I started with the biggest present, because of course.

Present #1 was tasty!

Present #1 was tasty!

Popcorn, that we promptly ate for afternoon snack and highly enjoyed.

The second day, I went for an envelope, because there’s quite a few of them stuffed in the box.

Blue gum

Blue gum

A pack of gum, which I needed since we’re about out at the house.

One last bit of housekeeping – an updated photo of my hair.

Even more hair.

Even more hair.

I keep thinking to myself, now I really have hair, and then a week later saying the same thing. I did have my mom trim the hair along my ears the other day, since it was starting to stick out funny. A little bit longer and I’ll be able to spike it like my son’s soccer coach. I might need to get a little product for that to work well, though.

I can’t stop running my hand over the top of it when I’m sitting around. Even so, I’m still surprised sometimes when I look in the mirror and see how little hair I have. I’m not sure what I’m expecting, but it isn’t the super short hair that I have. When I see pictures of myself with long hair, even that looks odd now. I’ll be curious to find out if and when the internal image of myself matches the external image.

