Radiation routine

Radiation has quickly moved into a routine. Every day goes something like this:

  • I get to the Cancer Center
  • Scan my card and sit for a minute (I usually don’t even have time to check my email. I’ve stopped bringing my book, they’re so fast getting me in.)
  • Head back to my room
  • Lay on the table, with my arm in the horribly uncomfortable braces, and a pad under my knees. I keep waiting for my shoulder to stop hurting or my fingers to stop going numb. Hasn’t happened yet. On a good note, I have nailed the perfect place for my head.
  • The techs scootch me over a bit here and there so I line up perfectly
  • Four scans – one below, two on top, one farther below. The two from below need a wedge of metal in the X-ray machine to direct the radiation correctly, so the techs have to come in after the first scan and before the last scan
  • I’m out of there within 15 minutes

There are a couple of differences, depending on the day. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I get a bolus of fake skin put over my chest for the first two treatments. This allows the radiation to target closer to the surface of my skin. Once a week I get X-rays to make sure everything’s still lining up. Once a week I see Dr. Figura, just to make sure there are no problems (none so far). I will occasionally get a dosimeter put on to make sure I’m getting the correct dosage.

All in all, a quick process on a daily basis. It just takes forever to be done with the whole treatment to be done.

2 thoughts on “Radiation routine

  1. I loved reading a few of your blog posts about your visits for radiation! I am new to the community and I was curious to see if anyone wrote about their radiation treatments. As a student in Radiation Therapy (graduating in May), I love getting a person’s perspective on treatment. You can never fully understand any medical procedure until you get to hear (or read) what it is like to go through it as a patient. You can imagine with HEPA laws and the like, I only get to speak in-depth to one patient per semester for a case study and have to “butt out” for the rest of the time. Thank you for writing about your experiences and good luck! You seem to have a great understanding of your treatment.

    • Glad you found the blog helpful! I know everyone’s experience is slightly different, but I like to have an idea of what to expect, and you only get that if people are willing to share their stories. I’m trying to make it easier for others by telling my story.

Comments are closed.