Half my doses are done!

I found out yesterday that it was the last day for my second set of radiation doses. I won’t be getting any more treatments to the area around my clavicle. That means I’m down to just two doses a day, both centered around my breast. I’m happy to be done with even part of my treatment.

I will admit the upper part of my expander has been irritated lately. Dr. Figura is pleased with how the skin looks, but even so it’s pink and sore and itchy. I almost wish it was warmer so I could not wear any clothes over the area. The advantage of it being winter is I can wear lots of layers and the size difference between the expander and my breast isn’t as noticeable. The disadvantage is there’s always something rubbing on my skin. I tried something different yesterday and wore a snug-fitting T-shirt under my warm clothes to hopefully decrease the rubbing. It seemed to help. The nurse suggested cortisol cream to help with the itching.

gollieI have been following the recommendation not to wear a bra so as to minimize further irritation to the area. That works as long as I’m not going out in public. Then I wear a bra because the size and height difference between the expander and my other breast is highly noticeable. The downward slant is what bothers me most. StatsGuy came up with nicknames for the pair of them – Bink and Gollie, after the book series by the same name with two friends of completely unequal size.

Someday I’ll get the expander removed. I need to finish radiation first. Soon!

