Choosing a hair style

One unexpected result of my breast cancer diagnosis and treatment is the requirement to choose a hair style. I’ve never really had to choose a hair style. I’ve chosen minor things, like what to do about bangs, but never associated with how to cut my hair. Now I have to decide what I want to do with my hair. Do I leave it short? Do I grow it long again?

I must admit, I’m enjoying the hair length I have right now. I finally got around to spiking it, at least in the front, and I love it like that. It makes me smile every time I see it in the mirror. I never would have cut my hair, but now that it’s short, I think it looks surprisingly good.

I love my spike.

I love my spike.

It reminds me a little of Tintin’s haircut.

tintin-appears1

The flip in front doesn’t take much to do, as I’m sure others have found. As long as I flip it up when my hair is wet, it will stay. I did go out and buy some product to make a little more of the hair stand up.

My hair wax. I've been told a little goes a long way.

My hair wax. I’ve been told a little goes a long way.

I’ll try it out one day when I don’t have to go out so if I totally mess up the hair I won’t need to share my mistakes with others. Now the question becomes, at what point do I have to go out and get my hair cut. The bits over my ears StatsGuy can trim for me, but I want to make sure the spike on top is a good length. All I know is I’m not there yet.

5 thoughts on “Choosing a hair style

  1. Everyone thought I was nuts when I decided to dye my brand new hair…..but it came back GRAY…..and I wasn’t even 40 yet! It made look old and tired….I was sick of looking tired. So, my hair dresser dyed it platinum…..yes, platinum. I became “rocker mom” to my kids. People in public commented on how much they loved my platinum pixie style. Best of all, I felt like I didn’t look sick anymore and it put a little swagger in my walk. Have fun with whatever you choose!

    • At one level, it’s great just to have hair again. Having a style that puts a smile on my face whenever I see it is such a bonus. I agree that it flips the mindset so quickly from “sick” to “fun”.

  2. Love the flip but note that not all of us had hair that flipped. Mine came out curly and then wavy, never flippy. Also love the nicknames. As I told you because I only had one, it was Toot instead of Toots! So very proud of you and your attitude. Love, MA

  3. You look awesome Natalie. Just keep smiling. You’re a winner all the way. I’ve followed you’re story and I’m so proud of you and so happy for the great results you’ve had. Almost over… Hang tough!
    Love you
    Sharon

Comments are closed.