Oh, the Itchiness

One week left of radiation, and that will be focused specifically on my scar area. That’s the good news. The bad news is that apparently, I’m allergic to radiation. That’s the explanation Dr. Figura gave me this morning during my weekly visit to explain why the skin in my treatment area is just completely covered in bumps.

A taste of what my skin looks like.

A taste of what my skin looks like.

It started Friday morning on the underside of my expander and has grown to include the entire treatment area, plus a little bleed into the surrounding skin and up my collar-bone. The worst of it is the whole area itches, pretty much constantly. Dr. Figura’s suggestion was to keep it moisturized, but it isn’t itching because it’s dry. If I don’t touch the area, it’s not too bad, but my clothes rub and once I start itching, it’s so hard to stop. Sometimes I put moisturizer on just so I have an excuse to rub the area.

Sadly, itchiness is much harder to treat than peeling skin, but Dr. Figura did mention he had some medication that may help. I’ll be asking the nurse about it tomorrow morning, you can be sure.

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Itchiness

  1. Hi, I just came across your post and have not read all your background stuff. I just posted about a cream I found that I wish I had during my radiation. It is Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream….just use a small amount. Much better than the Aquaphor they had me using. Good luck!

    • I’ve been using Miaderm, and the skin hasn’t been bad up until the allergic reaction. Now I just try to keep the itching to a dull roar.

Comments are closed.