Time for a boost

I’ve finished my regular treatments and have started the boost treatments to the area immediately around my mastectomy scar. Even though I’m on the same machine, it’s still a lot of changes to the treatment. For one thing, I’ll be treated with electrons instead of X-rays. To do so, they add an additional piece to the radiation machine.

See the tube extending below the green light?

See the tube extending below the green light? The red laser is reflecting off the base of the extension.

At the base of the tube, a square of lead is clicked in place that has the cut-out of the treatment area.

One side of the treatment area

One side of the treatment area

To get the proper shape, a tech has to draw on a glass plate clicked into the base of the tube and trace the outline of the treatment area that’s been marked on my expander. The trick is, you can’t just look straight down and trace because the machine is in the way. Instead, you have to curve your hand in between the metal arms and draw with the shadow of the pen following the line on my skin. Very tricky.

Because of the curve of my expander, the physicist and radiologist have recommended feathering the treatment area, which just means they break it into two halves and rotate the machine to get the proper angle for each dose.

Rotation for treatment

Rotation for treatment

The whole device gets within inches of my expander. The techs traced the outline of the treatment area onto my skin from a template developed at the beginning of the treatment, and then line up the light projecting through the metal piece with the tracing. Unfortunately, they couldn’t get the cut-out to line up with the marks on my skin. It seems that my expander has shifted slightly, so they needed to recut the metal to match my new contours. It took the two techs, the physicist, and Dr. Figura about 15 minutes to come to that conclusion, with my lying there with my arm in the torture device arm-holder the entire time.

I had three options at that point – I could stick around while they made a new metal piece (nope, sorry, have to be somewhere at 9), I could come back later that afternoon (before 1:30? No? Then sorry, have to pick up my kids from a class), or I could add another treatment day where they just make up the one treatment. Seems like I have to go with option C. That means I’ll be ending next Tuesday instead of Monday. Even if it adds another day, I’m down to counting on one hand the number of days I have left.

