Mitigated itchiness

The skin continues to itch, although it’s moved out of the “claw your skin off” level of itchiness I had on Monday. I did go back to the doctor and asked for something to help, because cool compresses and moisturizer did nothing to lower the level of itch. I am taking Zertec (I’m hoping I bought correctly and not just optimistically when I got the 12-pack instead of the 24-pack).

photo(28)

I was also given a prescription for silver sulfadiazine, which is a silver-infused, sulfa-based antibiotic used for burn victims. You just smear it over the itchy parts, and eventually the itch goes away.

I find it amusing that the container is blue, since that's the color it can permanently turn your skin if you ingest too much silver.

I find it amusing that the container is blue, since that’s the color it can permanently turn your skin if you ingest too much silver.

Between the two items, the itch is manageable. The initial outbreak is starting to heal, with the hives crusting over and starting to subside. Sadly, the outbreak hasn’t stopped growing. I can easily see where I had treatment around my collarbone and up my neck, since it’s full of hives at this point.

Another treatment area, full of itch

Another treatment area, full of itch

The hives are also starting to bleed out of the treatment area. This morning, I woke up with hives on my ear lobes (really? the ear lobes?) and my right shoulder-blade (radiation goes right through the body). I’m hoping they don’t make it to my face. It takes a couple of days for the itch to subside, so I know I’m not out of the woods yet. Some day it will stop growing and I won’t itch constantly.

