Back at the Cancer Center

No worries – it’s just my every-three-weeks Herceptin treatment. I had to stash the kids with a friend today because StatsGuy is out of town. It’s a tricky weekend to be out of town because it’s Miss Adventure’s birthday tomorrow. We’ll be having friends over tomorrow and then have the family celebration on Sunday. I baked her cake this morning, and I’ll frost it up tonight. If I remember, I’ll post a picture of the finished product.

I got an email from my Little Pink Houses of Hope volunstar coordinator this week. We head off for vacation in two weeks, which is so exciting. I’m hoping the weather is nice for us so we can spend some time on the beach. While I don’t have a schedule of the activities they have planned for us, I do know that we’ll be doing things like stand-up paddleboarding one day, game night, and date night for the adults. There will also be a professional photographer who will take some family photos. The question becomes what to wear for the photos. I hate the matchy-matchy look, but I don’t want horrible clashing either. Guess I better go through our closets and see what I can come up with.

I started looking at what we will do on the way down to the Outer Banks, and in the afternoons. We’re planning on driving to Williamsburg on the first day, which is right near Fort Monroe. Mr. Curiosity and I just read Iron Thunder (the link leads to my review of the book) which describes the battle of the Monitor and the Merrimac near Fort Monroe, so we’ll visit the actual location. While we’re down in the Outer Banks, we’ll visit Kitty Hawk as well. There’s some good history in that area! And we’ll take our bikes so we can do some riding and check out lots of beaches. It should be great fun.

