Graduated From One Doctor

I had my last appointment with Dr. Figura, my radiation oncologist, yesterday. It was just a short check-up. I got my vitals checked first. I never bother to get on my scale at home, because I know I’ll be weighed nearly every week at the Cancer Center. It looks like my weight might be dropping slightly instead of climbing slightly for a change. Then, it’s into the room to meet with the doctor.

A radiation check-up room

A radiation check-up room

Dr. Figura asked me how I was doing (fine), any pain (I’ve got a spot on my shoulder-blade that’s been hurting since radiation. If it gets worse, I’m supposed to let them know), any problems (no), and then into the gown:

The gown I chose was really long and ugly.

The gown I chose was really long and ugly.

Dr. Figura checked over the radiation site and confirmed there were no issues (you can’t even tell where the radiation was at this point) and I was done. It was a short enough appointment I would have felt a little cheated if I had paid my co-pay for the visit. The best news was I don’t have to go back and see him again. I can cross one doctor off my list. I’m pretty sure the other doctors will make sure I don’t miss him.

