Army of Women

logo_newI thought I’d do something a little different on this post, and talk about some breast cancer research. I can’t remember how I found the website, but the Army of Women is a clearinghouse for researchers actively seeking participants in various projects that touch on breast cancer. They are a part of the Dr. Susan Love Research Foundation, which is a “non-profit breast cancer organization, working to achieve a future without breast cancer by focusing on prevention and finding the cause”.

The basic principle of Army of Women is they provide details about research studies in which their members may want to participate. There are two options to find a study – you can look through their list of current projects, or wait until they send you an email about a project you may qualify for. If you think you fit the bill for that study and are willing to do whatever actions are necessary, there are a few more qualifying questions to answer and a researcher will contact you about specific details on the study.

I thought it was a pretty cool idea. I’m all about science, which you absolutely know if you know IRL and should guess based on the types of posts I put up here. I signed myself up as soon as I found the website. There’s even a study I qualify for: Breast Cancer Risk in Young Women Study. You have to have been diagnosed with invasive breast cancer (yes – invasive lobular carcinoma) at or before age 40 (yep, I was 39). All it takes for participation is to fill out paperwork (of course)

The paperwork sent for the project - lots of things to sign

The paperwork sent for the project – lots of things to sign

and get some blood drawn and sent back to them

The return package for my blood.

The return package for my blood.

Should be easy enough. I’m going to see if they can draw my blood while I’m at the Cancer Center this afternoon for my latest Herceptin dose. You never know what they’ll find, but hopefully they provide access to the completed research so I can see their results. We’ll see!!

