One Year Anniversary

So, Wednesday was the one year anniversary of my cancer diagnosis, kind of. It was the one-year anniversary of my first mammogram where the radiologist told me he was 99% certain I had cancer, but he’d have to do a biopsy to determine what kind of cancer. Needless to say, it’s been a whirlwind of a year. Treatment had it tough times, but it wasn’t all a bad year. We had two lovely family vacations (Montreal and Avon with Little Pink Houses of Hope) and got to see Mumford and Sons in concert, among many other lovely smaller events.

We celebrated this year with another bike trip. Last year we took two days while the kids were at camp to bike around the Niagara Peninsula (on the Thursday and Friday after my mammogram. The doctor wanted to do a biopsy on Friday, but I informed him I would be out of town. Cancer was not going to ruin my fun even at that point.) This year, we took three days and bike south of Cleveland, Ohio. StatsGuy and I love touring by bike, although 60 miles is all I can really handle without more training. It’s a good way to celebrate being cancer free. I’m sure we’ll do it again next year.

After biking 160 miles over three days.

After biking 160 miles over three days.

 

