Bloodwork for Science

Monday was my second to last Herceptin treatment. (Yes, there is dancing in appreciation of this fact that there’s only ONE MORE TO GO!!!) While I was there, I wanted the nurse to draw my blood for the Breast Cancer Risk in Young Women Study I am participating in. I was going to do it the last time I had a Herceptin treatment, but there was a problem with my meds which led to a long wait before my infusion, and I ran out of time to get it done. So, it was time to try again.

I figured it would be an easy process. I needed two vials of blood filled, and the researcher had provided the vials, the packaging, and everything. While I was accessed for my Herceptin, it would take no time at all to fill up the vials.

It’s never that easy, is it. For one thing, this was a bit out of the ordinary, so the nurse wanted to check with the supervisor, who of course was out to lunch. So, I had to wait for the supervisor to come back. The supervisor sent the nurse to the lab supervisor just to check. Usually they charge a fee for drawing blood, but I had paperwork that provided a billing address associated with the project. Finally, she got permission to draw the blood.

Vials of blood all set for mailing

Vials of blood all set for mailing

Once the blood was drawn, it was off to the FedEx Express store so I could get it in the mail quickly, before the blood started to degrade.

All packed up and ready to go.

All packed up and ready to go.

They received my samples today. I know this because I got a phone call from a researcher wanting to do my family history. I had done this for my BRCA testing, but still couldn’t remember all the details on how old my aunts and uncles are or, even worse, my great-aunts and -uncles. I vaguely remembered who had cancer in the family (not much of it), but hopefully it was detailed enough. The next step is to ask my sisters and parents to see if they’d be willing to send in blood to compare it against mine. I’ll ask them the next non-crazy visit we get and see what they say.

