Calling the doctor

Monday I called two of my doctors, which meant I was on the phone five or six times with one office or the other. Miss Adventure asked me why I was on the phone so much on Monday, and I had to explain to her the inefficiency of calling doctor’s offices and leaving a message with the nurse who calls you back to find out what you want and then needs to talk to the doctor, so they’ll call you back again…. Needless to say, the phone kept ringing.

I called Dr. Kang first. I wanted to find out when I could schedule my exchange surgery. I’m teaching in the fall again, so I’d like to be able to work around the surgery. From what I’ve read, I’ll only need a couple of days to recover from the surgery. If I can get the surgery on a Thursday or Friday, I won’t have to miss any teaching days, but who knows what his hospital schedule is. The nurse called back saying Dr. Kang wanted to see me to see if he could schedule the surgery before October. Really? Something happening faster than expected? That would be totally awesome. Now I just need to get this scab on my scar healed before I see him in August.

The second call was to Dr. Li’s office to talk about my Tamoxifen prescription. I’d stopped taking it because of the nausea. The nurse’s initial comment was just to take an anti-nausea drug along with the Tamoxifen. No, I don’t think I’ll be taking one drug to minimize the side effects of another drug that’s offering me minimal benefits for the next couple of years. The end result (after several phone calls) was Dr. Li wanted to see me because “nausea isn’t a typical side effect of Tamoxifen.” Great, now I’m all worried that the nausea is caused by the Tamoxifen interacting with cancer cells somewhere inside me. How to solve that problem – do a little research on the internet. Turns out, nausea is a side effect in 10-15% of women who take it. Some people just live with the nausea for years. In others, it seems to go away after a month or so when your body adjusts to it. I’m willing to try it for a month or two to see if the nausea subsides. We’ll see what he has to say when I see him on Monday.

