Another Milestone!

I had my last Herceptin treatment today!! That means, I won’t have to sit in an infusion chair again!!

Last time in the chair!!

Last time in the chair!!

My nurse today was the same nurse I had for my very first infusion. When she asked how I was doing, my response was, “Awesome!” She replied, “You should be!” She apparently was aware that was my last infusion as well. I was back in the corner this time, surrounded by other people doing chemo. I felt a little bad that I was so happy when they were still going through the nonfunness of chemo.

Now, just because I’m done with infusions, doesn’t mean I’m done with going to the cancer center on a regular basis. I still need to go and get my port flushed every four to six weeks. The nurse’s comment was many people go every month just to make it easier to schedule, but I’m all about avoiding a trip to the Cancer Center as much as possible. I’ll be making those trips every six weeks, and not a day sooner.

