Improvements

It seems that the antibiotics are working. I saw Dr. Kang yesterday and he thought the redness had decreased since the day before. When I woke up this morning, I thought it had improved even more. The oozy spot seems to be smaller as well, and not as oozy. (I’ll save you the pictures.) Dr. Kang said if the infection continues to respond to the IV antibiotics, they’ll put me on oral antibiotics on Monday. If those work, I could leave on Tuesday, and still have the exchange surgery on the 10th. Good news to my ears. If the antibiotics aren’t working well enough, the expander needs to come out while I’m in the hospital, and the implant will be put in at a later date.

I saw the Infectious Diseases doctor yesterday as well. She wasn’t very helpful. She talked a lot, but I realized when she left, she didn’t say much of anything. The one bit of information she passed on what that it didn’t seem likely the blood cultures would come back positive for anything. I wasn’t showing any signs of infection (like a fever) beyond the localized site. (My nurse this morning said the 24 hour preliminary blood cultures came back negative.) Since they wouldn’t have any detailed information, they’d just keep me on the Vancomycin.

I slept better last night, once I was able to go to sleep. I’m sure it helped I didn’t have the nasty squeeze-your-leg wraps on. They’re used to make sure you don’t get blood clots because you’re not up and around. Thing is, I’m up and around, so I don’t need my legs squeezed regularly. The only thing worse than the squeeze-your-leg wraps is the fact the nurses need to monitor my kidney function. So, every time I pee, I’m supposed to pee into a “hat” in my toilet and then call the nurse to empty it.

The hat in my toilet

The hat in my toilet – so lovely

I did have a lovely breakfast this morning.

Breakfast - I've learned to order lots of things so I get a full meal.

Breakfast – I’ve learned to order lots of things so I get a full meal.

I’ve got leftover Thai for lunch, and Firefly on TV for the day. Should keep me occupied for a while as I wait for my antibiotics every eight hours, and another visit from Dr. Kang.

