Home All Day

It was so lovely to wake up in my own house, eat my own food, and have a delightful cup of tea with breakfast. Everything is not perfect (I still have a drain and numerous stitches), but I’m home so it’s better.

The visiting nurse came by at lunch time to check out my incision and administer my antibiotics. I got a big box via courier yesterday evening, full of everything needed to keep the wee beasties growing in my body dying at a rapid pace.

Seven days of antibiotics

Seven days of antibiotics

The antibiotics get pushed into my IV line over a two minute period. First you have to flush the port with saline, checking for a blood return. Then you push the antibiotics, then you flush with saline again, and finish with a Heparin flush (to prevent clots). The nurse asked if I had anyone in the house who could manage the process. No, I don’t think StatsGuy is up for such activities. Please send a nurse every day to do the antibiotics.

All the other items for flushing the port.

All the other items for flushing the port.

