Drain Is Out!!!

I feel so much freer today, now that my drain is out! It wasn’t nearly as uncomfortable as the drain from my mastectomy, partly because it went into my chest instead of into my armpit. Even so, I am thrilled to have it out.

Friday I called Dr. Kang about getting the drain out, because it had drained less than 30cc in 24 hours (the requirement for removing the drain). Even so, he wanted to leave the drain in until early in the week because of the severity of the infection. Being the model patient (would it result in me having to go back to the hospital if I don’t follow directions? Well then, let me follow the directions to the letter), I waited patiently all weekend and called Dr. Kang’s office again Monday morning. They managed to schedule me an appointment in between the visiting nurse coming at 10:30 to give me my antibiotics and draw blood and teaching at 3.

When I got to his office, the nurse apologetically made some comment about not being sure Dr. Kang would take the drain out, since she hadn’t had a chance to clear it with him. Luckily, he was satisfied with the drain output (20-25cc since Thursday) and took it out. Oh my, was it uncomfortable when he took out the drain. First he has to cut the stitch holding it in, and the he has to pull, and I could feel the drain under my skin as he pulled it out. Blech. One big bandaid over the incision site, and I was off and running.

The next big step is getting my port de-accessed, and I will have nothing dangling from my skin, unlike the picture below.

Aren't I just a mess - gauze pad covering my surgery site, drain dangling from a lanyard, and IV tubing from my port.

Aren’t I just a mess – gauze pad covering my surgery site, drain dangling from a lanyard, and IV tubing from my port.

 

